Home A-Z Index About Us Books Español
Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links



NYHA Functional Classification for Congestive Heart Failure

The New York Heart Association (NYHA) Functional Classification provides a simple way of classifying heart disease (originally cardiac failure), useful for preoperative assessment. It places patients in one of four categories, based on how much they are limited during physical activity:

Class I: patients with no limitation of activities; they suffer no symptoms from ordinary activities.

Class II: patients with slight, mild limitation of activity; they are comfortable with rest or with mild exertion.

Class III: patients with marked limitation of activity; they are comfortable only at rest.

Class IV: patients who should be at complete rest, confined to bed or chair; any physical activity brings on discomfort and symptoms occur at rest.

Related Criteria:

Framingham Criteria for Congestive Heart Failure



  1. Hurst JW, Morris DC, Alexander RW. The use of the New York Heart Association's classification of cardiovascular disease as part of the patient's complete Problem List. Clin Cardiol. 1999 Jun;22(6):385-90. [Medline]

Sponsored Links


Created: April 21, 2005
Last Modified: 10/23/2010

MedicalCRITERIA.com © 2005 all rights reserved.                                                                     Contact Us.