Home A-Z Index About Us Books Español

Sponsored Links

British Hypertension Society classification of blood pressure levels (BHS-IV)



Systolic blood pressure (mmHg)

Diastolic blood pressure (mmHg)

Optimal blood pressure



Normal blood pressure



High-normal blood pressure



Grade 1 hypertension (mild)



Grade 2 hypertension (moderate)



Grade 3 hypertension (severe)

>/= 180

>/= 110

Isolated systolic hypertension (Grade 1)



Isolated systolic hypertension (Grade 2)

>/= 160


This classification equates with that of the European Society of Hypertension (ESH) and that of World Health Organization/ International Society of Hypertension (WHO/ISH), and is based on clinic blood pressure values. If systolic blood pressure and diastolic blood pressure fall into different categories, the higher value should be taken for classification.

Related Criteria

Summary of Recommendations for Management of Hypertension in BHS-IV

JNC-VII Classification and management of blood pressure for adults


  1. Duerden MG; British Hypertension Society. Guidelines from the British Hypertension Society: BHS is set to bankrupt NHS. BMJ. 2004 Sep 4;329(7465):569-70 [Medline]
  2. Williams B, Poulter NR, Brown MJ, Davis M, McInnes GT, Potter JF, Sever PS, Thom SM; BHS guidelines working party, for the British Hypertension Society. British Hypertension Society guidelines for hypertension management 2004 (BHS-IV): summary. BMJ. 2004 Mar 13;328(7440):634-40. [Medline]

Sponsored Links


Created: April 13, 2005
Last Modified: 10/23/2010

MedicalCRITERIA.com © 2005 all rights reserved.                                                                     Contact Us.